font size toggle icon
search toggle iconSearch Toggle
facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon

Borough Council

Myerstown Borough Council is composed of seven members:

Council Member  Term End 
 Bryan L. Rittle*  Dec 31, 2019
 Michael D. Behm**  Dec 31, 2019
 Park W. Haverstick, II***     Dec 31, 2021
 Eric L. Powell  Dec 31, 2021
 Ronald L. Ream  Dec 31, 2021
 Dana Reich  Dec 31, 2019
 Jeffrey L. Thomas  Dec 31, 2021

* President of Council
** Vice-President
*** President Pro Tem

Council members are elected at-large to four-year terms.  The Pennsylvania Borough Code establishes a pattern of staggered elections so that roughly half the council is up for election every two years.  When a vacancy occurs on council, the office may appear on the ballot as a two-year short term to retain the original staggering of council members.

Borough council functions in two distinct ways. The first is as a legislative body like the General Assembly of Pennsylvania, enacting laws that set up and fund the borough government and regulate the activities of people living and businesses operating within the borough’s geographic boundaries.  The second is as a board of directors of a nonprofit corporation in which the council oversees the delivery of municipal services (other than the police department) on a day-to-day basis through the manager, secretary. or other public officials.  

By design, the council carries out its statutory responsibilities through a collaborative, deliberative process in which the majority rules and no one councilperson has any more authority than another.  The council is organized into committees for the purpose of studying legislative issues in detail and making recommendations to the entire council to take or not take formal action.  Myerstown Borough Council has five committees: public works; planning, zoning, and public safety; finance and administration; parks and recreation; and utilities.

The council conducts official business of the borough at its regular meetings held the second Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Room at the Myerstown Community Center located at 101 S Railroad St in Myerstown, PA.

In accordance with Pennsylvania’s Sunshine Act (Open Meetings Law), Myerstown Borough Council ensures the right of the public to have notice of and the right to attend all its meetings at which Borough business is discussed or acted upon.  Residents and taxpayers of Myerstown Borough have the opportunity to comment on matters of concern, official action, or deliberation which are or may be before the Council.